Australian Warning System - A New National Approach

Australian Warning System is changing.


Know the Signs:

How you receive warnings may not change, but the wording, colours and call to action may be different to what you’re used to, as this system is implemented across Australia. Refer to your state or territory’s emergency service’s website for how to stay informed during an emergency.

What is a Warning?

A warning provides point-in-time information about a hazard that is impacting or is expected to impact communities. It describes the impact and expected consequences for communities and includes advice on what people should do.

What are the warning levels?

There are three warning levels:
Advice (Yellow):
An incident has started. There is no immediate danger. Stay up to date in case the situation changes.
Watch and Act (Orange):
There is a heightened level of threat. Conditions are changing and you need to start taking action now to protect you and your family.
Emergency Warning (Red):
An Emergency Warning is the highest level of warning. You may be in danger and need to take action immediately. Any delay now puts your life at risk.